The Initial Signs

My ex-boyfriend and I had exchanged stories regarding our most recent break-ups when we first met. He told me that his ex girlfriend had broken up with him because he was “too negative” – BIG surprise there!  He seemed so charming and supportive; “negative” just didn’t make sense to me at the time.

However, there were lots of little signs that I didn’t pay attention to because I was infatuated. The key in identifying an abusive individual is being able to hone in on those RED FLAGS at the beginning that might predict escalated abuse in the future. I remember reading the following list months into my relationship, when the verbal abuse had peaked, and I had then put the pieces together. All of these signs were present even at the beginning, just to a lesser degree:

  • He seems irritated or angry with you several times a week. When you ask why he’s mad, he either denies it or tells you it’s in some way your fault.
  • When you feel hurt and try to talk with him, the issues never get resolved. He might refuse to discuss your upset feelings by saying, “You’re just trying to start an argument!” or claiming he has no idea what you’re talking about.
  • You frequently feel frustrated because you can’t get him to understand your intentions.
  • You’re upset—not so much about concrete issues like how much time to spend together, but about communication: what he thinks you said and what you heard him say.
  • You sometimes think, “What’s wrong with me? I shouldn’t feel so bad.”
  • He seems to take the opposite view from you on almost everything, and his opinion isn’t stated as, “I think …” but as if you’re wrong and he’s right.
  • You can’t recall saying, “Cut it out!” or “Stop it!”

Excerpt from: The Verbally Abusive Relationship, Patricia Evans. Adams Media Corp 1992, 1996, 2010

Get to know the person you’re dating VERY well. Be curious, ask questions, see how they respond, make note of their inclination to address any topic – are they genuinely forthcoming or do they simply blame their ex’s for failed relationships in the past? Are they coming on too strong?  This could be a sign that they’re trying to control and take ownership of you. Are they constantly speaking highly of you and very lowly of others? They might be idealizing you and this will lead to constant criticism down the line. Full-fledged verbal abuse takes time, but the signs are there right off the bat.

Always respect yourself, speak up when you’re being mistreated and trust your gut. DON’T settle! Once I’m ready to date and start a new relationship, I’ll be taking my time, making sure that respect and healthy communication are priorities for both.

~DIVA~

Chris xo.
4 thoughts on “The Initial Signs

  1. Also, trust your intuition! If you feel like something is off, it probably is. I personally could tell something was off from the moment we had our second date. I will say one thing though, I feel like now that I know the warning signs it’ll be a lot harder to get sucked in to an abusive situation. Also, it doesn’t matter how silly you feel for not liking something someone has said to you. It is never petty to stick up for yourself!

    • 100%! Always, ALWAYS follow your gut! All of us know when something feels wrong or off. It’s really all about trusting that feeling and knowing what’s best for you. I feel the same way, I’ve gained such an immense understanding of abusive types and I’ll have the intuitive skills to identify them better next time around. You are the most important person in your life – never settle for less than you deserve! Thanks for sharing!:) Chris xo.

  2. I been living this for almost 10 years…my emotions run wild, am so depress and he takes out everything on me..dont know why it’s so hard to leave 😦

    • I’m sorry to hear about your situation, Linda. I can definitely empathize. Verbal abuse is insidious and difficult to detect right off the bat. The abuser gains control over the course of the relationship, leading the victim to feel trapped and helpless. The upside is that YOU CAN FIGHT THIS! The DIVA team has your full support. Don’t be afraid of leaving him. You deserve to be happy, healthy and with someone that treats you with respect. You deserve to be loved and love is void of abuse or mistreatment of any kind. Feel free to email us at theanonymousdiva@gmail.com. We’d be happy to hear from you and lend a supportive ear:) Much love, Christina. xx

Leave a Reply

